Independence

This is an incredible journey of life firsts. First trip abroad. First time in the customs cattle line. First time on a subway. First time to be amongst people who can’t understand a word I am saying – well that’s sort of a loose “first”. I did live in LA. First solo dining experience in a restaurant. 

I stood tentatively outside the tiny little eatery debating on entering when a young man stumbled forward with a handful of menus and offered me one in English. I breezed through the few glossy pages and nervously stepped in the door. The flustered young man, who was still holding a handful of menus, lead me to a small spot at the counter in the corner. As I settled into my seat the first thing I realized was that the ENTIRE restaurant was gawking at me – not staring mind you – gawking. This wasn’t what plagued me to begin with. Thanks for making this easy on me, everyone.

After a few minutes of back-and-forth on what to have, I closed my menu and laid it on the counter in front of me. Nervously, the same young man approached me with his iPhone out and Google translator up and running. Ok. This is going to be interesting. I clumsily pointed at my menu, he offered me a quick, short bow and rushed off.

I watched another gentlemen behind the counter going about his craft with the utmost intention when a cold glass of bubbly brilliance was dropped in front of me. I looked up to say thank you but the elusive waiter had vanished in a flash.

I slowly sipped at my refreshing beverage and gently closed my eyes while I propped my jet-lagged head up with my fist. Suddenly, in a mini moment of sheer terror, I was thrusted back into reality with what felt like a massive ball of flame not but 2 feet from me. Apparently, the poor man assisting me had left the gas going on my yakiniku grill and forgot to ignite it.

Don’t worry! I was able to keep my eyebrows. With phones out, every patron stood to get a better view of what an American might look like on fire. Sorry to disappoint your YouTube followers.

Anyway! I must have ruined this poor young man’s night because, apparently, he is meant to prepare your food for you – he did not want to do anything of the sort. Pouring sweat and openly shaking, he began going through the step-by-step process of fixing my meal.

It was the best steak I have ever had in my entire life. I felt all the tension of the gawking audience fade away more and more with every bite I took of my amazing meal. Enjoying the quite jazz music, a full belly, and a tired but happy soul, I spun my glass between my fingertips wishing I could share this with my dearest friend. Although, to experience this at all was pretty cool.

Ok, firsts! What’s next??

 

Leave a comment